Wisconsin Department of Tourism Wins National Silver Anvil Award For "Frank Lloyd Wright Trail" Campaign

Posted on: 6/11/2018

MADISON, Wis. – The Wisconsin Department of Tourism received a prestigious Silver Anvil award during the annual Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) ceremony in New York on June 7. The Silver Anvil was awarded for the Wisconsin Department of Tourism’s public relations campaign to raise the profile of the world’s first Frank Lloyd Wright Trail and boost attendance at nine Wright-designed buildings along the 200-mile self-guided motor route.

Anchored in media relations, special events, social media and key stakeholder collaborations, the public relations campaign launched the trail in conjunction with Wright’s 150th birthday in 2017. Outreach efforts generated 547 statewide, regional, national and international articles, which resulted in 1.1 billion impressions and $50 million in earned media value. All Frank Lloyd Wright Trail sites reported an increase in visitors, some by as much as 20%.

"I am so proud of our team and their work to create a campaign that increased awareness of Wright's work in his native state of Wisconsin and grow tourism," said Tourism Secretary Stephanie Klett. "It is truly an honor to win an award of this caliber and be in the company of prestigious national brands such as Universal Pictures, Procter & Gamble, and HP Inc."

The Frank Lloyd Wright Trail campaign was the Department's most successful PR campaign ever and has received numerous national awards, including an HSMAI Adrian Award, a Bulldog Reporter Media Relations Award and a PRSA Paragon Award of Excellence.

The Silver Anvil award was presented to the Department on the eve of Frank Lloyd Wright's birthday, and was one of only 51 Silver Anvil awards bestowed this year. An additional 65 entries received Awards of Excellence.

About the Silver Anvil Awards

Established in 1945, the Silver Anvil Awards are recognized as the most prestigious and iconic awards in the communications industry recognizing industry leaders, from solo practitioners to large agencies, small businesses to Fortune 500 companies, and not-for-profits to major government agencies. A panel of 125 judges, including public relations professionals, determines the award-winning programs.


# # #